Using junctions

Hi,
I’m new in teneo and I’m trying to create a subflow that makes a question to the user, and depending on the answer, it shows differents responses. I have 3 options:

1. The answer of the user conteins the word “maniobra”.
  2. The answer of the user conteins the word “puerta”.
  3. It doesn’t much none of them.
    So, I have generated an ENTITY (DEFECTO.ENTITY):
    defecto_entidad
    I know that I need a variable (I don’t know if global or flow variable… I have to use these variable in other subflows) to save the answer of the user… for that in the transition I have the next condition:
    %DEFECTO.ENTITY^{defecto = _USED_WORDS}
    I’m not sure I this is correct… so after that, how can extract the words I need (maniobra, puerta) to know what path I have to choose?

Hi Miriam! I really like your question, because this is exactly the use case that Teneo is designed for. I hope I’ll be able to help you.

The entity looks like just what you’ll need. I assume you’ve placed it in the transition leaving the prompt.

The variable defecto:

Regarding defecto, I would assign it this way, to acquire the normalized values that you set up in the entity:

%DEFECTO.ENTITY^{defecto = lob.TipoDefecto}

If you assign used words, you may wind up with any number of variants of the words, including with typos, etc.

Regarding the scope of the variable defecto, there are two approaches:

1. global variable: so that it can be accessed everywhere that it is needed. Here you should be sure that old values of defecto can’t cause any problems.

2. flow variable: as flow vars are local to the flow they are defined in, if the calling flow needs to know about the variable you have to pick it up from the subflow, and pass it on to other subflows that need it. So you will have to define a flow var at all the locations needing it. Note also that once the main flow is dropped, the flow variable vanishes as well. If other flows need it later, you should go with option 1)